2019 Richard A. King Award Winner

Congratulations Bill Moore!

About the Richard King Award

The Richard A. King Award was established by the MEDFA Board of Directors to honor the memory of one of MEDFA’s founding members and most dedicated supporters, Richard (Dick) A. King. As a development attorney, Dick was at the forefront of Missouri’s development tools. He often paved the way for innovative applications of such tools in order to achieve clients’ goals and further economic development in our state.

MEDFA honors the memory of Dick each year with the Richard A. King Award. It is presented to a person, company, project or municipality who, in the opinion of the Board of Directors, has made a significant contribution to economic development in the state of Missouri. The award winner is recognized at the Annual Conference in October.

Congratulations William B. Moore, our 2019 Recipient

Bill Moore has over 30 years of experience practicing law in both the private and public sector, including over 14 years as the City Counselor for the City of Independence.  Bill is currently a partner with Rouse Frets White Goss Gentile Rhodes, P.C. His practice concentrates on local government law and real estate development, including zoning, land use and economic incentives.

While with the City of Independence, Mr. Moore represented the City on a wide variety of issues, including such areas as economic development, land use, environmental and historic preservation.

In addition, Mr. Moore was the Past President of the Missouri Economic Development Financing Association, former Chairman of the Missouri Bar Local Government Law Committee and was the Regional Vice President for the Eighth Circuit/South for the International Municipal Lawyers Association while he was serving as City Counselor. Mr. Moore was also a past Chairman of the Independence Council for Economic Development.

Prior to attending law school, Mr. Moore worked at the Minneapolis Housing and Redevelopment Authority (‘MHRA’). While at MHRA, Mr. Moore held several positions with the agency, the last being project director for three urban renewal projects.

Bill serves as special counsel for many political subdivisions utilizing development tools such as tax increment financing, tax abatement and the creation of special purpose districts such as transportation development districts and community improvement districts. Bill also represents property owners and developers on real estate development matters.


  • Local Government Law
  • Real Estate Development
  • Zoning and Land Use


  • Minnesota, 1979
  • Missouri, 1981
  • Kansas, 2010


  • Hamline University School of Law, J.D.
  • University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law, LL.M. in Urban Law
  • Mankato State University, B.A, M.A. in Urban & Regional Studies


  • The Missouri Bar
  • Kansas Bar Association
  • Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association
  • Independence Council for Economic Development
  • Missouri Economic Development Financing Association
  • Missouri Municipal Attorneys Association
  • Independence Chamber of Commerce
  • Eastern Jackson County Bar Association
  • Best Lawyers in America 2010-2018 (Land Use and Zoning Law)
  • Highest attorney rating from Martindale-Hubbell (AV)
  • Adjunct Professor – Community Development Lab at UMKC School of Law

Past Richard A. King Award Winners 

2007 – Kay Barnes, Former Mayor of Kansas City, MO
2008 – City of St. Joseph, Triumph Foods Project
2009 – Karen Messerli, Mayor of Lee’s Summit, MO
2010 – Mike White, Chairman, White Goss Attorneys at Law
2011 – Rob O’Brien, President, Joplin Area Chamber of Commerce
2012 – Denny Coleman, President, St. Louis County Economic Council
2013 – Sallie Hemenway, Dir. Business & Community Services, MO Dept. of Economic Development
2014 – Patrick Bannister, Dir. Business Development, Deputy Executive Dir. St. Louis Development Corp.
2015 – Mark Grimm, Shareholder, Gilmore & Bell, P.C.
2016 – Mike Downing, Director, Missouri Department of Economic Development
2017 – Doug Stone, Attorney, Lewis Rice
2018 – Otis Williams, Executive Director, St. Louis Development Corporation
2019 – William B. Moore, Attorney, Rouse Frets White Goss Gentile Rhodes, P.C.

Awards Criteria

Nominees display one or more of the following characteristics:
1. Dedication to the promotion of economic development in Missouri
2. Creative and innovative use of Missouri development tools
3. Noteworthy achievement in economic development in Missouri

*The nomination deadline was July 26, 2019

Richard King Award Nomination Form